Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
When purchasing a home or property, it is in your best interest to ensure that all structures have been properly permitted. You are legally responsible for any un-permitted structures. Use our Permit Tracker to verify that the structures on your property have a valid permit.
That depends on the nature of the project. At a minimum you will need to complete a building permit application. Other documents you may need include architectural plans, product approvals, site plan, or engineering details. If you do not own the property, you will need a notarized letter from the owner allowing you to do the project, show a lease that allows you to do the project, or have the owner sign the permit application. Please call our office or come by and explain your project to us, and we can go from there.
Yes, you may work on a home or business that you both own and occupy. You must continue living in, or operating your business in the building for at least one year after the project is complete. This exemption to the Florida Statutes is specific to owner-occupied buildings and does not apply to rental properties. A licensed contractor is required for all permitted work on rental property (residential and commercial).
The list of required inspections is located on the bottom of the permit card. You can schedule inspections by calling the Building Department at (352) 245-7021 x 2105 no later than 3:00 PM the business day before the requested inspection. Inspections are performed Monday through Thursday. It is the applicant's (Owner Builder/Contractor) responsibility to ensure that all required inspections are requested prior to proceeding with work on the project. For new dwellings and changes of use: once all fees are paid and all required inspections are completed, the applicant will be issued a CO (Certificate of Occupancy).
One of the major benefits of obtaining a permit is having technical resources at your side: the Certified Building Inspectors and Certified Building Officials/Plans Examiners. Belleview’s building inspectors, officials, and plans examiners have years of trade experience and code training to help assure your project meets Florida Building Code standards. This assures sound, safe design and construction. They can answer questions, provide guidance before you start your project, and save you time, money, and frustration.
If the inspection requires the inspector to enter your building or if there are animals on the property, someone must be there to meet the inspector. A ladder must be provided if the inspector needs to access a roof or attic.
If your project value exceeds $2,500 (HVAC-$7,500) a Notice of Commencement is required to be filed with the Marion County Clerk of Court prior to building inspection.
To open a business in a commercial unit inside the city limits you will need to complete the Change of Tenancy permitting process. The application is available on the Business Information page as well as a 'New Business Information' Guide. The City will review your application and both the Building Official and Marion County Fire Prevention will inspect the unit for safety. Once the unit passes both inspections, you will contact the Development Services Department to pay your business tax, and a Local Business Tax Receipt is issued and you may open for business.
Home businesses may be conducted in all residential districts under certain provisions as per City of Belleview Code of Ordinances and Florida Statute. Please refer to our Code of Ordinances for a list of regulations, by clicking here. All home businesses are required to obtain a Local Business Tax Receipt prior to operation. Please contact city staff at 352-245-7021 for additional information.
Copies of the following:1. Fictitious name registration (Via www.sunbiz.org)2. Copy of necessary state or federal licenses (Food service, Motor Vehicle Repair, Cosmetology, Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco, etc.)3. Tax ID/FEIN# or Social Security Number4. Garbage service verification5. Property owner permission for business to operate in that location (signed lease or other notarized authorization)
The City's Finance Department will assist you with the purchase of a Cemetery space. Please call the main line at (352) 245-7021 and your call will be directed to the correct person.
Address of violation - If no address is visible, is there an address north, south, east, or west of the house/parcel that can be provided. Description of house or property. Suspected violations described in detail.
In accordance with SB60, effective 7/1/2021 the City of Belleview can no longer investigate code enforcement complaints received anonymously. Complainants are now required to provide their name and address. If you believe your complaint poses an immediate health and safety concern, please contact the Code Enforcement Officer at 352-245-7021 ext. 2106.
Household garbage must be in a container, trash can or in a tied bag. Yard debris must be bundled/tied in 4 foot sections or bagged. Items cannot be over 50 pounds. You must contact Florida Express to arrange for pick up of large items such as appliances, furniture and mattresses. The number for Florida Express can be found on your trash can.
Yard maintenance is the responsibility of the property owner, occupant, tenant, or resident and includes mowing the grass. Grass shall be maintained at a height less than 12” tall. Yards should be free of junk, trash and debris per City Code and should be properly disposed of.
Marion County Animal Services now handles animal complaints for the City of Belleview. You may file a concern with MCAS by calling (352) 671-8727 for non-emergencies or during working hours. For emergencies or after hours/weekends, please call Marion County Sheriff's Office at (352) 732-9111.
• From the property line along road rights-of-way .....25 feet • From the property line along the side and rear .....8 feet • From other onsite buildings .....5 feet• From the front property line (carports only)…..10 feet
There are exceptions:• Sheds may be placed in the back yard with an 8-ft back yard setback. • Carports are permitted in the front, side, or back yard with a ten-ft front yard setback.
R-1………………….…..30% lot coverageR-2, R-4 & RMH….....…40% lot coverageR-5 & R-O……………...50% lot coverageRPD…………………….As approved with development plan
If your electric bill comes from Duke Energy and a street light is out in your area, click on the link below. Fill out the information on the outage reporting form. Email to Duke Energy. https://www.progress-energy.com/florida/home/storms-outages/index.page
Sumter Electric: Street Light Outage Reporting
If your electric bill comes from Sumter Electric and a street light is out in your area and you can get the Pole#, closest house address or intersection and know what the problem is (Out, Flickering, Always on, etc.) City staff will report to Sumter Electric. You can report this information via the Report a Problem/Citizen Request Tracker page. This will allow you to get updates via email or text. If you are unable to complete this information online, please call City Hall at (352) 245-7021.
You can pay in person at City Hall located at 5343 SE Abshier BLVD Belleview FL 34420
City Hall is open Monday - Thursday from 7:00 am - 6:00 pm. We are closed on Fridays.
1. Pay in person at City Hall using cash, check or credit card. 2. Check payments may be placed in the drop box located in front of City Hall. (Please do not put cash payments in the drop box). 3. Pay online at https://accessmygov.com via credit card or electronic check. 4. Sign up with a Utility Billing Customer Service Representative to have your payment automatically drafted from your account.
All utility payments must be received in our office by 6:00 pm on the 15th of the month. Bills not paid by 6:00 pm on the 15th of the month or the first business day after the 15th day of the month, should the 15th fall on a Friday, weekend, or holiday, will automatically have an additional 10% late penalty applied.
Bills not paid by 6:00 pm on the 30th day of the month will render the account to be in non-payment status and a non-payment status penalty of $60.00 will be automatically applied to the account. Should the 30th of the month fall on a Friday, the weekend or a holiday, payment must be received by 6:00 pm on the first business day following the Friday, weekend day or holiday. Bills not paid by the 30th day of the month or by 6:00 pm on the first business day following the Friday, weekend day or holiday are considered to be in non-payment status. Accounts in non-payment status are subject to disconnection.